Retroactive Course Changes

Follow

Applies to: Starter, Pro, Plus, & Enterprise Plans

When making updates to Online Courses, there are some cases where making changes will apply retroactively, where others will not. While this isn't an exhaustive list of all possible changes that you can make, this article covers a number of standard items.

After you have chosen your Availability, Completion, and other Online Course settings, clicking Save will make those choices live (provided Is Active is enabled). Once live, any changes to the below settings will affect Users retroactively. 

  • General Tab
    • Is Active
    • Category
    • Thumbnail
    • Image
    • Tags
    • Language
    • Notes
  • Syllabus Tab
    • Chapters & Lessons: changes will be updated for all Users. Please note: User progress will not be updated retroactively when changing and/or adding Chapters & Lessons for Users who are already marked complete.
  • Availability Tab
    • Enable E-Commerce
    • Allow Self Enrollment
    • Allow Automatic Enrollment
    • Administrators (Editors, Department Editor, Department Visibility)
  • Completion Tab
    • Allow Re-enrollment
  • Resources Tab
    • Resources
  • More Tab
    • Allow Comments
    • Mobile Device Alert
    • Allow Offline Player Download
    • Course Evaluation
      • Available to Users, but not required when enabled retroactively
      • Users will be marked as Complete in a Course provided all Lessons are marked as Complete, and Evaluation is Required is disabled when previously enabled

The following Online Course settings will not affect Users retroactively, but instead, will only apply to Users enrolled after changes are made to the below settings:

  • Syllabus
    • All lessons, in any order; All lessons, in order by chapter; Exams only: will only affect Users that are enrolled, or re-enrolled) in the course after settings are changed. 
    • Chapters & Lessons: changes will be updated for all Users. Please note: User progress will not be updated retroactively when changing and/or adding Chapters & Lessons for Users who are already marked complete.
  • Availability Tab
    • Approval
    • Proctor
    • Access Date
    • Expiration
    • Due Date
    • Prerequisites
  • Completion Tab
    • Allow Failure
    • Certificate
    • Competencies
    • Credits
    • Post Enrollments
    • Messages
  • More Tab
    • Show Terms & Conditions
    • Enable Course Evaluation
      • Users will be marked as Complete in a Course provided all Lessons are marked as Complete, and Evaluation is Required is disabled when previously enabled
    • Audience
    • Goals
    • External ID
    • Vendor
    • Company Cost
    • Learner Cost
    • Company Time
    • Learner Time
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.