This article only applies to portals that have upgraded to the New Learner Experience.
The Learner User Interface provides Users the ability to Pin Courses for later. This feature is a good option for Users who think a course looks interesting, but do not want to enroll into it for any number of reasons. The option to Pin a Course appears when hovering over a tile.
Clicking on the thumbtack icon will automatically add the course to the "My Pinned Courses" area on the dashboard. If the User is no longer interested in the Course, or wants to remove it from their "My Pinned Courses" area, clicking the thumbtack icon will remove it.