Sources of Truth Between Salesforce & Absorb
What is a source of truth? When two (or more) systems are connected, it's the system whose data is considered accurate. Typically, if a change is made in the source of truth, it overwrites data elsewhere.
For users, the Salesforce App is considered the source of truth. Any changes to user data on a synced user's profile must occur in Salesforce, where they will sync back with the LMS, and overwrite any adjusted data. For this reason, user records for synced users in Absorb are locked and cannot be edited (except for certain settings such as admin roles).
Please Note: Any data changes for users made in the LMS will not be synced back to Salesforce as it is a one-way sync only. This ensures that Salesforce is the source of truth, and that the data is accurate.
The source of truth for courses (and related items such as sessions and classes) is Absorb. While users must be updated in Salesforce for changes to be applied and synced as expected, any changes to courses must be made in Absorb LMS. We recommend controlling the permissions for the custom objects within Salesforce such that your Salesforce users do not see the option to edit or create these records within Salesforce (e.g. remove the 'Edit' permission for the 'Courses' object)
While enrollments can be created directly from Salesforce, any changes to enrollments (e.g. a learner completing a course, an admin overriding a learner's score or a new attendance record for an instructor-led course) must still be done within Absorb LMS.