Categories are a great tool for managing your content, and organizing your learning content. There are three types of categories each, of which can be managed through their respective Courses, Global Resources, and Competencies reports. This allows admins to organize their course content, global resources, and competencies in their own sets of categories. The workflow to manage all categories is identical, regardless of the category type.
In this example, we'll have a look at Competency categories. After loading the report, the option to Manage Categories will appear in the Add New menu at the bottom. Clicking this button will take you to the Competency Categories report.
The Competency Categories report will display any existing categories that have been set up in your portal. To add a new Category, you can do so in the Add New menu on the right.
Once the page refreshes, you will be provided with three options to set up the Category. The first determines what the parent category will be for the one that you are creating. If Root is selected, the category will be set up as a top-level category instead of being nested within another.
The Name field is what the category will be called, and is what your Learners will see when navigating through your content. Finally, the description is where you can add additional details about the category to provide additional information or instructions for other Admins. Any text added here is not displayed to Learners, so only your Admins will be able to view it.
Once you have completed creating your Category, click on Save to retain your changes.
Once you have saved your new Category, it will appear in the report as well as from the Category drop-down menu when setting up a Competency. If for any reason, you need to edit or delete a Category, you can do so by selecting it from the Categories report. To create or manage categories for Online Courses or Global Resources, you can follow the same workflow in their respective reports.
Please Note: That if you delete a category it also deletes all content attached to that category. This means that subsequent Courses, Competencies, and Global resources will also be deleted.
Deleting Categories at the Competency level will give a warning which indicates that all competencies assigned to this category will be deleted.
Deleting Categories at a Global Resources level gives an error but doesn't specify that all resources assigned to this category will be deleted.
Deleting Categories at the Course level will give a warning which indicates that all competencies assigned to this category will be deleted.