Group Administration

Follow

This article provides information on a portion of the Absorb system that has been updated with the Absorb Admin Refresh Experience.  The instructions and guidance in this article are intended for those whose environment has enabled the free Absorb Admin Refresh Experience upgraded. For more information about what is available with this, please check out the Absorb Admin Refresh Checklist!

AR-Groups-Admin.png


Overview

The Groups page (also referred to as the Group Administration page), provides you access to manage all Groups created within your Absorb LMS environment. When on the Group Administration page Admins can add new Groups, edit existing Groups, view Users associated with the Group, and much more!

Groups can be used to organize Users within the system if Department hierarchy or User Custom Fields are not able to provide the structure needed. Admins can perform bulk actions, filter training, and limit Admin's access to certain Users within the LMS by using Groups.

 

Page Details

The Group Administration page is nested within the User menu. When Admins first navigate to this page they may be presented with a default report view, a favorite saved layout or the shared organizational default layout.

From the Group Administration page, Admins will be able to do the following:

  • Add new Groups
  • Edit Groups
  • View Users within the Groups
  • Message Users within the Groups
  • Delete Groups
  • Duplicate Groups

Report Data

You can customize this report to provide information on any of the data points listed below.

Notes

 

Data Column Description
# of Admins

This column displays the number of users who have the  User > Account > Admin option enabled (ON) in their User Profile who belong to the selected Group.

# of Users*

This column displays the number of total Active Users in the selected Group.

Behavior*

This column displays how Users are assigned to the Group.

Automatic - Users are automatically assigned to the Group based on a set of rules or conditions they meet that are required by the Group.

Manual - Users are manually added to the group by an Admin. 

Date Added*

This column displays the date and time the Group was created in the system.

Date Edited* This column displays the date and time the Group was last updated in the system.
ID

This column displays the Group ID provided by the LMS when the selected Group was created.

Name*

This column displays the name of the Group. 

 


Actions & Mass Action Options

Group Administration

After generating a report, you can perform administrative actions. Commands to modify Report data become available once the checkbox of a table row item is selected (checked). The menu is displayed on the right-hand frame of the page. This menu is context-sensitive. The options for Actions and Mass Actions that are available will change depending on the content you are selecting.

  • An individual row selection will open the Actions menu.
  • Multiple row selections will open the Mass Actions menu.

Note: Action options are dependent on your individual Admin Role permission(s).  Some actions listed in the table below may not be available to all Admins.  If you have questions related to your permission set, please contact your local System Admin for details.

Actions

The actions listed in the table below are applied to a single selection

Action Menu Option Description
Add Group Click this button to launch a workspace to add a new Group.
Edit Group Click this button to launch a workspace to view and edit the selected Group's settings.
View Users

Click this button to launch a workspace where you can view and manage the Users associated with the Group.

Note: Only Active Users will display in the default view.  Filter by Status to include Inactive Users associated with the Group.

Message Group Click this button to launch a workspace to compose and send a message to the Group.
Delete Group

Click this button to delete the selected Group.

Note: Any Group(s) removed using this method are permanently removed from the LMS and cannot be recovered.

Deselect Click this button to clear current selections.

 

Mass Actions

The actions listed in the table below are applied to multiple items at a time

Action Menu Option Description
Message Groups Click this button to launch a workspace to compose and send a message to individual Users, a Group, or a Department.
Delete Groups

Click this button to delete the selected Groups.

Note: Any Group(s) removed using this method are permanently removed from the LMS and cannot be recovered.

Deselect Click this button to clear current selections.

 


Roles & Permissions

Group Administration

Please note that your environment may use customized Role(s), Permissions, or a combination of both to regulate access to this report.

If you have questions or need assistance, please contact your local System Administrator to review your current permission set. 

Required Role Permissions

Role: Section Access Permission(s) Needed
Users View or Modify permission
Users > Groups  View or Modify permission

 

Suggested Role Permissions

Role: Section Access Permission(s) Needed
Users > Departments

View or Modify permission

Published on
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.