Locked Department

Follow

This article provides information on a portion of the Absorb system that has been updated with the Absorb Admin Refresh Experience.  The instructions and guidance in this article are intended for those whose environment has enabled the free Absorb Admin Refresh Experience upgraded. For more information about what is available with this, please check out the Absorb Admin Refresh Checklist!


Table of Contents


Overview

The Locked Department function is an option made available in the Course's Enrollment Rules setting section.

When a Course has enabled Locked Department, it means:

  • The Course is only available to the Users who belong to the identified Department
    • Users who belong to other Departments will not be aware of the existence of content that had been "locked"
  • The Course can only be administered by the Department Admin(s)
    • Other Admins will not be aware of the existence of content that has been "locked"

This feature is ideal for clients that house sub-Departments for different brands, companies,  or audiences within a single Absorb LMS portal, and need to ensure that content is not made visible or available to other administrators or learners.

With Locked Departments, Department Admins will only see Courses and Users who belong to the Department(s) the Admin is responsible for.

 

Note: Locked Departments must be toggled on within the Portal Settings > Info section of the LMS. 


About Locked Departments

When the Portal Settings > Info > Enable Locked Departments for Courses is enabled (ON) the Locked Departments functionality will be visible in the Course Settings > Enrollment section. 

When a Department is selected in the Locked Department drop-down, Administrators with a custom role will be locked to enrolling users that are only in that Department or any of its sub-Departments.

It will also restrict the visibility within the Admin portal, so that only Admins who manage the identified Locked Department, will have visibility to that Course. When running reports or creating enrollments for users, they will only see the course(s) that are visible to their Department. Please see Course Settings: Course Administrators for more information on setting course visibility for Course Administrators. 

 


Instructions

How to Add a Locked Department

Step 1

Navigate to the Portal Settings by clicking the silhouette icon from the top right-hand side of the Admin portal. Choose Portals from the sub-menu.  You will be routed to the Info page.

 

Step 2

From the Portal Settings page, scroll down to the Enable Locked Departments for Courses option.  Toggle the Enable Locked Departments for Courses to On.  Select Save

AR-Locked-Departments-Portal-Setting (1).gif

Step 3

After saving your changes in the Portal Settings, you will be routed to the Admin Dashboard.

  • From there navigate to the Course menu and choose Courses from the sub-menu. You will land on the Course Administration page, where you can find existing Online Courses, Curriculum, ILC, and Course Bundles or create a new training. 

Step 4

Select Add or Edit to enter into the course settings. 

Step 5

Scroll down to the Enrollment Rules section of the Course settings. There the Admin will be presented with an option to select a Locked Department. Click the Select Department button to search and find the Department you would like to lock the course visibility to. This selection will include the direct department and any sub-departments that have that department as the top hierarchy.  

Note: If the Admin is restricted to a Department in User Management, their Department will default in the Locked Department field. The Admin can manage it and adjust it to a sub-Department if necessary. 

AR-Course-Settings-Locked-Dept.png

Step 6

Continue to scroll down the page to the Course Administrators section of the Course settings. The settings will default with Course Visibility > Specific > Department Visibility with the Locked Department's selected Department. 

AR-Course-Settings-Course-Locked-Dept-Course-Admins.png

Step 7

Complete the rest of your Course setup and select Publish

 


Roles & Permissions

Please note that your environment may use customized Role(s), Permissions, or a combination of both to regulate access to this report.

If you have questions or need assistance, please contact your local System Administrator to review your current permission set. 

Required Role Permissions

Role: Section Access

Permission(s) Needed

Users

View or Modify permission

Courses > Instructor-Led Courses

View or Modify permission

Courses > Curriculum

View or Modify permission

Courses > Course Bundles

View or Modify permission

Courses > Online Courses

View or Modify permission

 

Suggested Role Permissions

Role: Section Access Permission(s) Needed
Users > Departments

View or Modify permission

Users > Enrollments

View or Modify permission

Note: If Enroll Anyone is selected, the Locked Department rule will not work on the Enrollment Rules section - only the Course Administrator section. 

Published on
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.