Learner Un-Enrollment

Absorb allows Users to unenroll themselves from Online Courses, Instructor Led Courses, or Curricula. System Administrators have the option to enable or disable this feature from the Portal Settings page under the Users tab.

 

The option to unenroll will appear to Users if both of the following are true:

  • They have self-enrolled into the training.
  • Their status is Not Started or In Progress.

 

Use the Enrollment History report to determine if a User has unenrolled from training. Once a User has been unenrolled from training they will lose all related progress. As this setting is determined at the Portal Settings level, it is not possible to configure Learner Un-enrollment on a Course by Course level.

 

Unenrolling as a Learner

This section details the process of unenrolling from the perspective of a Learner. Please advise the following method:

Snag_cfe7e0.png

  1. The User navigates to the My Courses page and selects the training they would like to unenroll from.
  2. From the Course Details page, the User will have a new icon that displays within the banner, on the top right-hand side next to the Share and Pin icons. This icon will not display if any of the following are true:
    • User did not enroll themselves into the Course.
    • The Course is in any other status except Not Started or In Progress.
    • If the Course was enrolled via Automatic Enrollment.
    • The training is marked as Mandatory.
    • Purchased through E-Commerce .
    • The Course is part of a Content Library and the User has begun taking the Lessons (BizLibary, SkillSoft, LinkedIn, Amplify).
  3. The User will receive a warning, Confirm Unenrollment, explaining if they unenroll, they will lose all progress. They will be prompted to select unenroll in order to confirm or they can select Cancel to go back to the Course Details page. 

    Un-Enroll-Confirmation-Message.jpg

 

Enrollment History Report Data

Admins can view whether or not a User has been unenrolled from training from the Enrollment History report. The Admin can access the Enrollment History from either the Course Enrollment or from the User Enrollment administration page. 

Enrollment-Hx-Report-Example.jpg

 

Data Column Description
Attained Certificate

This column displays the User's status:

  • If YES = The User has earned the Courses Certificate.
  • If NO = The User has not earned the Course Certificate.
Certificate Date This column displays the calendar date and time that the User received their Certificate of completion.
Course Name* This column displays the current Course Title (name).
Credits This column displays the Credit amount awarded for successfully completing training in a scored or non-scored training in the LMS.
Date Completed* This column displays the calendar date and time that the User concluded all requirements within the training.
Date Electronically Signed

This column displays the date the User completed the Course's > Learning Object > Electronic Signature item, if applicable.

This value is only available on Online Courses.

Date Enrolled* This column displays the calendar date and time that the User was enrolled in the Course.
Date Marked Historic If Un-enrollment Type is "MarkedHistoric", this shows the date and time that a User was re-enrolled in the course.
Date Un-enrolled If Un-enrollment Type is "Self", this shows the date and time that a User unenrolled.
First Name* This column displays the value populated in the User's ProfileFirst Name field.
ID This column displays the Course Enrollment Id that is automatically generated by the LMS when the User is enrolled. 
Instructor This column displays the First and Last Name of the Instructor listed on the Instructor-Led Course
Last Name* This column displays the value populated in the User's ProfileLast Name field.
Score (%)* This column displays the User's overall training grade based on the number of items capable of being scored in the training. 
Session This column displays the Name of the Session
Session End Date This column displays the calendar date and time populated in the End Date field of the Session
Session Start Date This column displays the calendar date and time populated in the Start Date field of the Session.
Status

If...

Then...

Absent

The ILC Session Instructor marked the User as not present for the ILC Course Session.

Complete

The User has fulfilled all requirements within the Course.

Declined

An Approver has declined the User's request to enroll in the Course.

Failed

The User did not meet the minimum score required within the Assessment(s) contained in the Course.

In Progress

The User has launched or began at least one Lesson within the Course.

N/A

This status will display for Course Bundles.

Not Complete

This status will display when an Admin edited a User's enrollment so that the User can retake the Course.

Not Started

The User has not taken any action towards completing the Course.

On Waitlist

The User is on the Waitlist for a specific ILC Session date/time that is currently at full capacity.

Pending Approval

This status indicates that the User is waiting for a Manager or Admin to approve their enrollment request.

Pending Evaluation Required

The User needs to complete an Evaluation before receiving a completion for the Online Course.

Pending Proctor

The Online Course is waiting for the Proctor to sign off on the User's completion of the Online Course.

Ready for Review

This status indicates an Observation Checklist is ready for the Reviewer to complete the checklist.  

Un-enrollment Type

This column displays either Marked Historic or Self. This will determine if the User unenrolled themselves or if they were re-enrolled. 

  • Marked Historic: The User was re-enrolled into the Course.
  • Self : The User unenrolled themselves from the training. 

Username

This column displays the value populated in the User's Profile > Username field.

The Username is a name-based identity used to distinguish each User as they are added to the LMS. Also referred to as the User’s Login.

 

Learner Initiated Unenrollment

If a Learner is allowed to unenroll themselves from a Course, a Historic Enrollment will be recorded with the Unenrollment Method of Self. If a Learner unenrolls from a Course this way, an Admin will be unable to delete the Historic Enrollment.

 

Roles and Permissions

Keep in mind that you may need to adjust Course level Course Administrator permissions.

Role: Section Access

Permission(s) Needed

Courses > Instructor-Led Courses

View or Modify permission

Courses > Curriculum

View or Modify permission

Courses > Course Bundles

View or Modify permission

Courses > Online Courses

View or Modify permission

Users

View or Modify permission

 

Suggested Role Permissions

Role: Section Access

Permission(s) Needed

Users > Departments

View or Modify permission

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.