Applies to: Starter, Pro, Plus, & Enterprise Plans
In Absorb LMS, users can click Forgot Password on the login screen to have an email sent to the address associated with their user account. This email will contain a link to reset their password. From time to time your learners may encounter an error when using the Forgot Password functionality.
The link they receive comes with the following conditions:
- The link will expire in 24 hours. It is only temporary.
- The link is only good for a single use.
If the user inadvertently violates these two conditions they will receive an error message. They may see one of two error messages appear.
If they attempt to reset the password more then once using the password link, they will receive this message "The reset password link has already been used. Please return to the login page and request a new password reset"
If the user attempts to reset their password beyond 24 hours after the link was generated, they will see the following message "The reset password link has expired. Please return to the login page and request a new password reset."
If the user attempts to reset their password beyond 24 hours after the link was generated, or after first use, they just need to use the Forgot Password button again to generate a new reset email and then follow the link to reset their password.
New User Password Reset
The same restrictions will apply to the password reset link in the New User email, but this one will expire in 7 days instead of 24 hours.