Absorb has a couple of options that allow you to handle course visibility for admins, depending on what kind of accessibility you want an admin to have. First, you can hide all courses from them via the use of permissions, or you can hide specific courses by changing the department or editor assigned to the course. If your Portal has enabled Locked Departments, you can also use this feature to hide courses from Admins (and Learners.)
Course-Related Role Permissions
The first option is fairly straightforward. If you want to hide all courses from the user, system admins can use the admin interface to create a role that prevents access to Absorb's Courses report:
- Open up the Users sidebar, and select Roles
- In the Roles report, select Add Role. If you wish to copy an existing role, select it and then select Duplicate.
- In the Permissions report, simply deselect all of the view and modify items under Courses.
- Save the role, and assign it to the admin as you would any other Role.
Note that certain role permissions do have dependencies on these course permissions. For example, the Course Activity report requires access to Online Courses to select a course to report on via the mandatory filter in that report.
Course Editors & Admin Visibility Department
Absorb offers a couple of additional options which allow you to configure display options for individual courses:
- On the edit course page, select the Availability tab
- Scroll down to the Administrators section
In the Administrators section, you have two options:
- Editors: The admins selected here will be the ONLY admins able to edit the course if they have course visibility. However, other admins will still be able to modify enrollments and view reports related to this course. This field will be blank by default, which will allow all admins with the Modify Courses role permission to edit the course.
- Department Editor: By selecting a Department, only those Administrators who manage this department can edit this course if they have course visibility. You will have the option to give permissions to editors in a single department or you can give permission to editors from the department and all the sub departments too.
- Department Visibility: By selecting Add Department, an Admin can choose one or more departments (and sub departments) that will be able to view this course. When selected, Admins that do not have user management access to this department will not see this course in the Courses report or any other areas that list courses in your portal.
If Locked Department is enabled for your Portal, this option will now be displayed on the Availability tab of every Course.
Once the feature is enabled at the portal level, a Locked Department will be applied to a Course. When a Course is created, the Department of the Admin that created the Course is set as the Locked Department. No Admins from other Departments can view the Course.
It is also important to note that when a Course is edited by an Admin that is lower in the Department hierarchy, that Admin's Department becomes the Locked Department once they save their changes. If an Administrator with a higher Department visibility and Course administration permissions edits the Course and deliberately changes the Locked Department to one that is less restrictive.
You can learn more about Locked Departments here.