Why Can't My Enrolled Users See Changes To My Course?

Follow

Applies to: Starter, Pro, Plus, & Enterprise Plans

Often times when we create a course we realize a change needs to be made after all our learners have been enrolled. This can be troublesome since some changes have been designed to not work retroactively while others will and apply for all enrollments. This FAQ is designed to outline changes to a course and how they will affect current enrollments. 

General - Course Design Course name, images, description and tags will update all existing enrollments
Syllabus - Available Lessons New lessons will appear for all existing enrollments, but previous completions will remain regardless of lessons completed
Syllabus - Course structure New chapters and changes to lesson order will apply for all existing enrollments
Syllabus - Completion Requirements Changes will apply for all existing enrollments, but previous completions will remain regardless of lessons completed
Availability - Access Date Applies to all existing enrollments. If enabled for a future date, access to the course's lessons will be revoked until that date.
Availability - Expiration and Due Dates Changes to these will apply for all existing enrollments
Completion - Certificates Certificates will be granted to all future completions, regardless of their enrollment status when enabling this. Previous completions will not be awarded certificates
Completion - Changes to Certificate Expiry Changing the expiry date will not apply for learners who already have a certificate. Please note that certification and expiry dates can be adjusted for existing certificates in the Certificates report
Completion - Allow Re-enrollment If this option is on when a user completes a course, the user will be set to re-enroll on the preset date. If this turned off, it will not apply for learners who have completed and are set to automatically re-enroll
Completion - Re-enroll Automatically Enabling re-enrollment will allow all existing enrollments to re-enroll (within the re-enrollment period)
Completion - Allow failure (course-level) Course-level failure will only apply to new assessment failures moving forward. Courses containing previously failed assessments will be left either completed or in progress (depending on whether the assessment was weighted) until the next failure
Completion - Allow failure (lesson-level) Lesson-level failure will only apply to new assessment failures moving forward. Previously failed assessments will be left in progress until the next failure
Assessments - Assessment Weight Changes to assessment weight will only be applied for future attempts at the course/assessment.
Assessments - Minimum Passing Grade Changes to the minimum passing grade will only affect lesson statuses for future attempts at the assessment. Previously recorded scores that satisfy the new passing grade will not automatically update lesson status to complete
Assessments - Quiz Attempts Changes to max attempts will only apply to new enrollments
Assessments - Question Changes Changes to assessment questions applies for all existing and new enrollments,  but will not affect past completions. Updates to the questions will take place after any current attempts are completed. 
Assessments - Allow Additional Attempts After Pass Changes to this apply immediately and if a user is locked out after passing an assessment, turning this switch on will allow them to attempt the assessment again, assuming they have not reached the max attempts.
Messages - Enabling Message Enabling new message templates will not send them out retroactively
More - Terms and conditions Applies for all existing enrollments
More - Course Evaluation Applies for all existing enrollments. However, mandatory assessments will not be enforced for previous completions
Published on
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.