What Happened To Admin-Initiated Password Reset?

Follow

Applies to: Starter, Pro, Plus, & Enterprise Plans

Recent changes have re-structured password reset functionality in Absorb 5's administrative interface, now offering two different options:

Triggering A Password Reset Email

The primary method of resetting a user's password is to just have them reset it themselves! It was assumed that in most cases, if an admin were to reset a password on behalf of a user, they would just end of emailing the user that new password any way, so why not email them a link to reset their password themselves?

 

This can be done using the RESET PASSWORD button found when selecting 1 or more users in the Users report.

This will bring you to the Reset Password menu, which allows you to select what kind of email you are sending to the selected user(s). Two templates are available, the standard Password Reset email, and the New User email. An admin also has the ability to customize the messages being sent, similar to a regular message template with form fields and formatting. Once the admin clicks SEND, the LMS will send an email to each of the selected users with a unique link (per user) to reset their password.

 

The links are valid for a different amount of time depending on the template selected. Emails sent using the Password Reset template are valid for 24 hours, while the links generated in the New User email are valid for seven days.

 

Manual Reset

If emailing the password reset link to the learner is not an option, admins still have the ability to manually reset passwords, as they always have. If an admin wants to manually reset the password to an account, they can access this option by selecting a user and choosing EDIT USER. This page is similar to the ADD NEW USER option, however there are two new fields available for administrators;

 

Filling out the Temporary Password fields will cause the user's password to be changed once the admin clicks on SAVE. In order to save successfully, the temporary password must meet the password requirements for the portal. Once saved, the user will be able to log in using this temporary password. However, upon successful login, the user will immediately be asked to again reset their password to ensure the utmost security of their account.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.