Applies to: Starter, Pro, Plus, & Enterprise Plans
Please note: As this feature is disabled by default you will need to request that it be enabled for your portal. Once it has been enabled the functionality will only be available to the system owner account (top level administrator). Learner merging cannot be undone without significant effort on our part and as such any requests to undo merges will incur an additional cost.
Learners are usually merged when an individual has unintentionally created two accounts. If the learner has not completed any activity on the secondary account you should simply delete that one and refer the individual back to their primary account. However, if they have already completed activity in the secondary account (lessons, courses, certificates, etc.) then that activity can be merged back into their primary account.
- Head over to the Manage Learners report and select the "Merge Learners" button at the bottom of the page. As mentioned above, you will only see this button if you are using the system owner account.
- Next you'll be presented with a screen where you can choose which learner account will be designated the primary (master) and secondary. Learner accounts are sorted by email, or if there isn't an email then the username. The learner's full name will also appear next to the email or username in brackets.
- After selecting the merge option you will be presented with a further confirmation screen. You can see a short snippet of the learners' information to ensure that you selected the appropriate learners, as well as confirmation that it will be the primary account's information that will be retained for the merged account. The secondary account will not be deleted but it will become suspended and hidden by default from most reports. Before proceeding you will also need to check the confirmation box.
- The end result after the merger has been completed is:
- The primary account will have retained it's original learner information and enrollments. It will also have gained all of the enrollments, completions, and certificates of the secondary account. If the primary account and the secondary account shared an enrollment then the merging process will retain the higher of the two statuses or scores. See the below chart for a few examples.
- The secondary account will still retain it's original learner information and enrollments as well, but it will now be suspended. Suspended learners are not able to login to the LMS and are also hidden by default in most reports. If the suspended learner tries to login they will receive a message informing them that the account was suspended as it was merged into another account.