Applies to: Starter, Pro, Plus, & Enterprise Plans
Re-certification allows learners to retake a course or curriculum and receive both a new certificate and completion per re-certification period. It's primarily used to simplify the process of creating courses that must be taken every year, two years, six months, etc. and to reduce the clutter of creating duplicate courses with updated titles. Now let's take a look at how it works:
- Navigate to the course that you'd like to set this up for, then open it's details and head down to the certificates section. Note that the course must have self-enrollment enabled.
- You'll need to make sure that you are granting a certificate for this course, and also that the certificate has an expiry. Here's an example of how the above settings would work:
- Jan 1st, 2013 - Learner completes the course and receives a certificate
- Dec 2nd, 2013 - Learner is eligible to retake the course
- Dec 15th, 2013 - Learner retakes and completes the course
- Jan 1st, 2013 - If the learner had not already retaken the course, they would no longer be able to after this point
- Nov 15th, 2014 - Learner is once again eligible to retake the course. They have 30 days to re-complete it.
- When setting your re-certification period you must make sure that it is shorter than the expiration period, and it's probably a good idea to allow for an extra day to eliminate any timing/time zone issues. To be 100% sure of the dates when re-certification will begin and end you might want to use a site like this one. Once you've chosen your times make sure that you save your changes.
- Now we need to setup the certificate expiration emails. There are two notifications that go out when a certificate is coming up on its expiration date: one to the learner and a bulk one to department administrators. We need to ensure the emails are enabled first so head over to My Details and look for this option under the settings section (Note that you must be the system owner to see this setting):
- The emails will be sent on the 1st of the month prior to the month in which the certificate is expiring, e.g. A certificate expiring sometime in Dec. 2014 will send out an email on Nov. 1st, 2014. This date can not be changed but you can customize the contents of the two emails using the email templates section of the Server Settings module. By default, the learner email simply states when the certificate is expiring, not necessarily when the course is available for re-certification. You can add some wording to the email indicating that the course will be available X days before the certificate expires, but keep in mind that the same email will be sent out for all of your courses and curricula. The admin email simply provides a list of all the learners who have certificates expiring in the next month as well as the certificate names.
- Once the re-certification period has begun the course will become available again in the course catalog. Note that learners will NOT automatically be enrolled into the "new" course and will instead have to manually re-enroll. You may want to clarify this in the learner certificate expiration email.
- After enrolling in the "new" course the learner's My Courses view will update. As there was already a course of the same name in that view, the only difference will be that the course changes from a status of Complete to Not Started. Depending on your interface version and design the status change will likely cause an icon or colour change as well.
- After the learner has re-completed the course they will receive a new certificate, with a new date. The course will also return to completed status once again, until the next re-certification period occurs.
- The Learner Activity report will show both the old and current versions of the certificate and completion.
- All other reports will only show the most recent certificate and completion.
Curricula function almost the same as courses but there are a few key differences:
- Automatic enrollment can be used in conjunction with re-certification. Learners will automatically be re-enrolled in the course as soon as the re-certification period opens.
- The same certificate expiration email is used for courses and curricula. This means that if you are using both you may need to add some language to the email indicating that enrollment behaviour will be different for courses vs. curricula.
- Due to the way in which re-certification is enabled at the curricula level there are a few edge cases where it may not function properly. While this is obviously not desirable, there isn't a way to overcome these limitations without a significant rewrite of the system.Thus, the current solution is to avoid these edge cases altogether. As these scenarios are discovered we will update this list, which should be checked to ensure you don't try and set something up that won't work:
- Enabling re-certification for courses contained in a curricula that already has re-certification enabled: To avoid this scenario you may need to have two versions of a course if you want re-certification at the course and curricula level.
- Using course groups with selective completion (i.e. 2 courses in a group, learner only needs to complete 1) means that learners might choose to complete a different course when retaking the curricula. You will need to keep this in mind if you are planning to report on courses contained in re-certifiable curricula.