Changes to Session Messaging

Follow

Applies to: Starter, Pro, Plus, & Enterprise Plans

With the release of 5.31 on May 15th, 2016, we have improved how session changes are communicated to the learner. We have introduced a new email template called the SessionUpdated template that contains three sections, both the 1 new section and 2 current sections:

  • Session Cancelled
  • Session Switch
  • Session Updated (New)

Depending on a change made to the session, different parts of this template will be sent. A list of changes that would trigger this template include,

  • Instructor is added or changed
  • Class start/end date times are adjusted
  • Classes are added or deleted
  • Venue is changed
  • Meeting url has changed under "Virtual Meeting Details"

Below is the template that you can find under the MESSAGING TAB for the course or within the GLOBAL MESSAGE TEMPLATES (Settings >> Message Templates):

The template sections are broken up by the various tags such as {{#SessionCancelled}} ..... {{/SessionCancelled}}. If any of the tags are modified or changed then the session update email will fail to send. At this time we highly suggest keeping any modifications between these two areas.

Along with these changes any current templates you have in your courses for Session Updates will be replaced by this new one. The old template for Session Switch will still remain in the GLOBAL MESSAGE TEMPLATES so any changes made to it will remain but the template itself will not be used. If you'd like to keep the content from the Session Switch template we recommend copying the course template over to the GLOBAL MESSAGE TEMPLATES. You can also save them by copying and pasting them into a text document outside of Absorb prior to May 15th, 2016.

If you have any questions regarding this change, please feel free to create a ticket with our support team and we'll be able to help you out!

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.