BambooHR- Configuration and Setup

Follow

Introduction

Absorb is now offering an integration with BambooHR. To enable the BambooHR integration you must submit a ticket to our Support Desk and request access.

Once the BambooHR integration has been enabled for your Absorb portal, you will need to establish a connection between BambooHR and Absorb LMS. This is done through the Manage BambooHR button located on the right-hand menu of portal settings and requires administrative BambooHR login credentials.

Note: portal settings is only available for LMS system admins.

Contents:

Integrations Connections

Course Sync Settings

General Settings

Integration Connections

The first step of establishing the connection between BambooHR and Absorb LMS is to enter your BambooHR subdomain (Ex: absorbsandbox) and press the authenticate button.

You will then be automatically redirected to the BambooHR site where you must enter your BambooHR credentials. You will then be automatically redirected back to Absorb once the connection is established.

Note: that this must be a BambooHR administrators account. The data mapping values included in the setup flow of the BambooHR integration will adhere to any profile restrictions set on the BambooHR admin account used.

 

User Data Mapping

Once the connection is established additional tabs will appear in the Manage BambooHR section of portal settings. The User Data tab is where you will configure all user sync logic. This includes indicating which users are to be completed in the sync, user field mapping between BambooHR and Absorb LMS, department mappings and LMS admin access settings.

Note: The point of truth for all LMS users created via the integration is BambooHR. Any changes to data on a synced user’s profile must occur in BambooHR.

Unique Identifier:

The Unique identifier is used to determine which field will be matched when cross checking between Absorb and BambooHR to create or update a user.

Mapped User Fields:

Next, you set the mapping for the five required LMS user fields (first name, last name, email address, username and integration external id). This where you can add any additional fields you wish to map from BambooHR to Absorb LMS.  

Note: The fields you are selecting to generate the sync logic are BambooHR fields pulled directly from your BambooHR system.

Absorb Department Mapping

There are three options for user department assignment in Absorb LMS. The first option allows you to assign all contacts/users to their respective department created in the BambooHR hierarchy. You can rename the department’s default name as part of this setup flow. 

Note: The fields you are selecting to generate the sync logic are BambooHR fields pulled directly from your BambooHR system.

When the integration is enabled for your Absorb portal, a separate BambooHR department hierarchy will be created as a child to your overall parent department. Please note: this addition will not adjust the department structure you already have in place. Please see below, for an example department hierarchy.

 

The second option allows you to create your own departments underneath the default BambooHR department. This option pulls a value from a custom field on the BambooHR user’s profile. It will check to see if that value matches with an existing department underneath this portion of the department structure and assign the user to that department. If there is no match the department will be created and the user assigned to this department.

Note: If the selected custom field for department is empty, the contact/user will be assigned to the selected default.

The third option allows you to select a field from the user profile and match the fields value across all departments in your Absorb portal. The field provided will be matched with the department Name or External Id in Absorb and must be an exact match. If there is no match the user will not be created and an error will be logged. This is designed for existing clients that have already created their department structure and do not want to alter it to use this integration.

Synced Users

The synced users section of the user data mapping table is where you will determine which BambooHR users you would like to sync to Absorb LMS. There are two options, the first is to sync all BambooHR users to Absorb LMS.

The second, is to sync a subset of BambooHR Users based on determined rules.

Note: The fields you are selecting to generate these rule sets are BambooHR fields pulled directly from your BambooHR system.

LMS Admin Access

The final setting under the User Data Mapping tab is used to establish which synced BambooHR users you would like to provide LMS admin access.  To do so select the add admin access rule button on the bottom right hand corner of this section.

The Availability tab is where you will title the ruleset and determine the user criteria.

Note: The fields you are selecting to generate these rule sets are BambooHR fields pulled directly from your BambooHR system.

 

Be sure to determine what admin access level you would like to provide these users. This is done under the Account tab. You may add multiple rules for your integration. Once you have completed creating you rule sets you may manage your rules individually using the edit or delete icons on the right column of the rule list.

You can add as many LMS Admin Access Rules as you require.

Course Sync Settings

If you wish to have completed enrollment records synced to BambooHR as part of the integration you must complete the course sync settings. Course sync settings are listed under the Course Sync Settings tab.  

Note: Completed enrollment records will sync to BambooHR only if the user is and the course is synced. If the course or the user is not included in the sync, the completion record will not be communicated to BambooHR.  

There are three options for syncing course information from Absorb LMS to BambooHR. The first option is to Sync all LMS courses to BambooHR. This includes online courses, curricula and instructor led courses.

Note: this excludes course bundles.

The second option is sync courses with (one of) the following tags, or sync courses that do not have the listed tag(s).

Note: this excludes course bundles.

The third option is to sync courses within a specific category or categories. You may choose to include all courses assigned to the sub categories of the selected category.

General Settings

The general sync settings tab is where you will determine which email address(s) you wish to receive sync error emails. This is also where you will enable/disable the sync through the enable sync toggle.

To save your sync settings please ensure you select save on the right-hand menu. Doing so will validate whether all required fields have been set. Once validated your sync will begin to run.

Note: altering your sync settings will not modify your data retroactively. If you have made a critical sync logic change please select the reset sync button. This button may only be selected once every 24 hours. Please ensure your settings are finalized before selecting reset sync.

 

 

Published on
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.