System Admins can configure the Social Profile and User Conversations features for their Portal. These are two features that enhance the social experience of your Learners. If the Social Profile is enabled, other Learners in your Portal will be able to view a version of the Learner's profile. If User Conversations are enabled, Learners will be able to message one another within the Learner Experience. This article guides System Admins on how to add these features to their Learner Dashboards.
Though both the Learner Social Profile and User Conversations can be enabled simultaneously, a System Admin can choose to enable only one of these features without enabling the other.
Though Admins can enable User Conversations in the Admin Experience, Admins do not have visibility into these conversations through the Admin Experience. They will need to Impersonate a User to view these conversations.
If your Portal uses Absorb Engage, you can also connect User Conversations to Microsoft Teams so Users can chat and receive Nudge Notifications in Teams. For setup and requirements, see Microsoft Teams Chat and Notification Integration.
Enable Social Profile and User Conversations
To enable Social Profile and User Conversations in your Portal, follow the steps below:
-
System Admins should sign in to the Admin site and click the Settings icon on the right side of the page to display the Account options.
- Click Portal Settings from the Account options.
- Click the Users tab to view all Portal options related to Users.
- Scroll down until you locate the Learner Social Profile toggle. Turning this on allows a User's name on the Learner Dashboard to become clickable, displaying a viewable version of the User's profile. When this is off, Users cannot view other Users' profiles in your Portal.
- Next, you can enable User Conversations. When this is on, Learners can click a User's name wherever it appears within the Learner Dashboard to open a conversation window.
-
When User Conversations is enabled, the Send email to Learner for new Conversation message toggle is on by default. Unless disabled, a Learner receives an email each time another Learner messages them.
If you choose to send Learners conversation emails, you can set a snooze period to help reduce the number of emails a Learner receives during a conversation. Select the hours and minutes you want the LMS to wait before sending an email notification for an existing conversation.For example, when in a conversation with another Learner, the LMS will not send any more email notifications for that conversation until the 2-hour time period elapses from the last time an email was sent.
- Click Save.
Comments
Article is closed for comments.