An Introduction to Course Settings

Follow

This article provides information and guidance on a portion of the Absorb LMS Admin Experience that is now upgraded to the Admin Refresh Experience.

Please visit our Absorb Admin Refresh Checklist article for more details about what is available with the free Absorb Admin Experience upgrade.

Table of Contents

 


Overview

This grouping of articles describes the settings available when creating Courses using the Absorb LMS Admin Refresh Experience.

Each Course Setting has its dedication section and is listed in order of appearance in the table below as they will display within your Absorb LMS environment.

The Admin Refresh Experience introduces a one-page layout for the Course creation process.  By default, the General Course Setting section will be open and ready for editing.  Depending on your Course Type, other initial setting sections may be open too.  Choose additional options to build rules and behaviors from the Add More Course Settings area.

Course Settings are available for the following Course Types:

  • Online Course
  • Instructor-Led Course (ILC)
  • Course Bundles
  • Curriculum

Note: Click on the Course Setting name to go to its article.

Course Setting Online Course Instructor-Led Course Course Bundle Curriculum
General + + + +
Syllabus + - - -
Sessions - + - -
Courses - - + +
Enrollment Rules + + + +
Completion + + - +
Availability + + + +
Catalog Visibility + + + +
Course Administrators + + + +
Messages + + + +
Resources + + - +
Course Uploads + + - -
Attributes + + + +
Social + + - +
More + + + +

 


Example: Add More Course Setting Section

The icons found at the top of the course management page or at the bottom will direct you to the correct Course Settings. 


Course Settings Icons.jpg

 


Changes Made to Course Settings after Enrollment

When making updates to Course Settings where users have already been enrolled in the training, you will want to consider changing the Course Settings based on whether the changes will apply retroactively and which changes will not. All changes will affect all users enrolled, regardless of their status in the training. However, they will not be required to re-take the training again based on the following changes. 

 

Setting: General

Course Setting Retroactive Not Retroactive
Is Active Retroactive -
Title  Retroactive -
Description Retroactive -
Tags Retroactive -

 

Setting: Syllabus

Course Setting Retroactive Not Retroactive

Groups, Chapters, and Lessons

Retroactive

Note: Completed enrollments will not be required to take the Course again.

-
Sessions Retroactive -

Must Complete

(All lessons, in any order, All lessons, in order by chapter or Exams only)

Retroactive

Note: Completed enrollments will not be required to take the Course again.

-
Pace Progress Retroactive -
Show Terms & Conditions Retroactive -
Proctor Retroactive -
Mobile Device Alert Retroactive -
Max Attempts on Assessments
(In Object Settings)
- Not Retroactive

 

Setting: Enrollment Rules

Course Setting Retroactive Not Retroactive
Approver - Not Retroactive

 

Setting: Availability

Course Setting Retroactive Not Retroactive
Access Date Retroactive -
Expiration - All Options Retroactive -
Due Date - All Options Retroactive -
Allow Course Content Download Retroactive -
Prerequisite - Not Retroactive
Prohibit Learners from Changing or Canceling Sessions  Retroactive  -

 

Setting: Completion

Course Setting Retroactive Not Retroactive
Certificate PDF - Edit Retroactive -
Certificate PDF - Add - Not Retroactive
Certification Date - Not Retroactive
Allow Re-Enrollment

Retroactive

-
Competencies

Retroactive 

Note: Completed enrollments will not get updated. 

Not Retroactive
Credits

Retroactive 

Note: Completed enrollments will not get updated. 

-
Allow Failure - Not Retroactive
Leaderboard Points

Retroactive 

Note: Completed enrollments will not get updated.

-
Post Enrollment - Not Retroactive

 

Setting: Catalog Visibility

Course Setting Retroactive Not Retroactive
Category Retroactive -
Thumbnail Retroactive -
Mandatory Course  Retroactive -
Feature Course? Retroactive -

 

Setting: Course Administrators

Course Setting Retroactive Not Retroactive
Course Visibility Retroactive -
Primary Department Editor Retroactive -
Additional Admin Editors Retroactive -

 

Setting: Messages

Course Setting Retroactive Not Retroactive
Enrollment - Not Retroactive
Completion  Retroactive if added prior to completion.  -
Nudge  - Not Retroactive
Nudge Frequency - Not Retroactive
Failure Retroactive if added prior to failure. -
Session Update  Retroactive if added prior to update. -
Session Enrollment - Not Retroactive
Session Approval - Not Retroactive
    -
Instructor  - Not Retroactive
Mark Attendance Reminder Retroactive if added prior to session date. -

 

Setting: Resources

Course Setting Retroactive Not Retroactive
Add Resource Retroactive -

 

Setting: Course Uploads

Course Setting Retroactive Not Retroactive
Add Upload Retroactive -
Label Retroactive -
Instructions Retroactive -
Approver - Not Retroactive

 

Setting: Attributes

Course Setting Retroactive Not Retroactive
Enable Evaluation

Retroactive

Note: Completed enrollments will not be required to take the Course again.

-
Evaluation Required - Not Retroactive
Enable Course Rating Retroactive -
Audience Retroactive -
Goals Retroactive -
External ID Retroactive -
Vendor Retroactive -
Company Cost Retroactive -
Learner Cost Retroactive -
Company Time Retroactive -
Learner Time Retroactive -

 

Setting: Social

Course Setting Retroactive Not Retroactive
Allow Comments Retroactive -
Collaboration Retroactive -

 

Setting: More

Course Setting Retroactive Not Retroactive
Notes Retroactive -

 

Published on
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.