Course Settings: Course Administrators

Follow

This article provides information and guidance on a portion of the Absorb LMS Admin Experience that is now upgraded to the Admin Refresh Experience.

Please visit our Absorb Admin Refresh Checklist article for more details about what is available with the free Absorb Admin Experience upgrade.

Table of Contents

Introduction

The Course Administrator setting available when adding or editing a Course is designed to help automatically filter Courses visible on the Course Administration page, in Reporting and when Enrolling users into Courses. 

Establishing Course Administrators helps other Admins focus on the training that is relevant to them, and not overwhelmed with all training content available within the system.

Course Administrator settings allow you to choose whether all Admins will be able to see the specific Course, or if it will only be visible to those Admins who manage specific Departments.  This will help control access to any proprietary information that may need to be withheld from other Departments (that may be acting as separate Companies.

Note: The specific Admin Role (whether it is the default Admin Role or a customized Admin Role version) determines which aspects of the Course can be managed.  Identifying a Course Administrator for specific Courses helps keep content segregated to those with the appropriate administrative permissions. Please see the Role Permission Change or Admin Refresh Experience: Absorb LMS Roles & Permissions Overview for more information about Role management. 

 


Settings

AR-Course-Settings-Course-Admins.png

Course Visibility 

Here Admins will have the ability to select All Admins or Specific to determine who can see this course in Course Administration, in Reporting and when Enrolling users into Courses. When Specific is chosen, the Admin will be prompted to select a Department in the Department Visibility section. 

Note: All Admins will default, unless you have Locked Departments enabled. 

Department Visibility

Department Visibility Rules limit the visibility of the Course to only those Administrators managing the specified Departments.

The Department Admins will only see the selected courses in Reporting, on the Course Administrative page, and when Enrolling Users into a course. The Admins within these Departments will have the ability to view and modify the Course, unless a Primary Department Editor and/or Additional Admin Editor is selected (per Role permissions). If Primary Department Editor and/or Additional Admin Editor is selected, then the Admins within this Department will only have View access to the Course. 

Click the Add Department button to open a modal to search for and select Departments. 

  • Single Department = Will include only users that report to the department directly.
  • Include All Sub-Departments  = Will include users who belong to the selected department or departments that report up to the selected department.

The Admin may choose to select Add Rule to filter by more Departments. 

Course Visibility.jpg

Primary Department Editor

This option will allow the Admins of the selected Department and/or their Sub Departments the ability to manage the selected Course. These Admins will also need the permissions within their Role in order to View and Modify the Course.

Note: If a Department is not selected in Department Visibility, then they will not be able to view it either.

Click the Select Department button to choose a Department; then opt to limit to the single current department or include all sub-departments.

 

Additional Admin Editors

The Additional Admin Editors selected will have the ability to manage the selected Course. These Admins will also need the permissions within their Role in order to View and Modify the Course.

Note: If a department is not selected in Department Visibility, then they will not be able to view it either.

Click the drop-down menu to select additional Admin Editors. The search allows the Admin to begin typing the Admin's first name, last name, or username to find the specific User. 

 


Locked Departments

When the Portal Settings > Info > Enable Locked Departments for Courses is enabled (ON) the Department selected in the Locked Departments field of the Course Settings > Enrollment section, will automatically populate as the default in the Course Visibility > Specific > Department Visibility field.  Please see the Locked Department article for more information about Lock Departments. 

 

Published on
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.