Manage Categories

When working within Absorb LMS, Categories can be created and leveraged to organize Courses, Competencies, or Global Resources. This resource acts as a guide on how to both create and manage these Categories, when working in the Admin Interface.

 

How to Add a Category 

  1. Navigate to the Courses icon, and click on Courses to open the Courses Report.
  2. Note the options for Add New Category and Manage Categories in the Actions menu, located on the right-hand side of the Courses Report.
    • If Add New Category is selected, the Admin will open up the Add New Category Form
    • If Manage Categories is selected, the Admin will land on the Categories Report
  3. Select Add New Category from the Actions menu.
  4. Fill out the required fields and create your Category, then click Save to retain your changes. 
Category Workflow

The workflow to manage all Categories is identical, regardless of the Category type.

 

New Category Fields

The Add New Category Form consists of the following fields:

  • Parent Category: This determines what the Parent Category will be for the Category being created. If no Category is selected, the Category will itself be configured as a Parent Category.
  • Name: In this field, enter the Category's name and a description of what the Learners will see when navigating through your content.
  • Description: Here, you can provide a brief description of the Category, but this description will not be visible to the Users.

 

Category Assignment and Management

Once you have saved your new Category, it will appear in the Categories Report and from the Category drop-down menu when setting up a Course, Global Resource, and Competency. When creating or editing a Course, the Category drop-down menu can be found in the Catalog Visibility tab as illustrated below:

If, for any reason, you need to edit or delete a Category, you can do so by selecting it from the Categories Report

Category Deletion Warning

If a Category is deleted from a Competency or Global Resource, it also deletes all content attached to that Category. This means that subsequent Competencies and Global Resources will also be deleted.

If a Category is deleted at the Course level, the Category will be removed from the Course, but the Course will remain as-is.

Was this article helpful?
6 out of 8 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.