Re-enrollment and re-certification are options within your course that enable users that have previously completed a course to take a fresh attempt through it. This is useful for purposes such as annual compliance training or any other certification that must be renewed in regular intervals. This guide will expand on the two concepts, and explain how to perform them from both the admin and learner interfaces.
Re-enrollment can be found under the Completion tab when editing a course, you will see an option to Allow Re-enrollment. When this toggle is turned ON, you will be presented with the option to choose when a learner is able to re-enroll themselves in the course. This can be set to either a certain length of time after their course completion date, or a certain length of time before their course certificate expires (see below for more information on re-certification).
If Course Repurchase has been configured, then Allow Re-Enrollment also needs to be configured before the Repurchase Price will be displayed to Learners in the catalog.
To re-enroll a learner from the admin interface:
- Go to either the Course > Enrollments or User > Enrollments report and select a course enrollment
- In the right hand sidebar, you will now have the option to Re-enroll them in the course. Note: as an admin, this option will always be available to you regardless of re-enrollment settings at the course level.
To re-enroll in a course from the learner interface, if you are within the re-enrollment period:
- Go to My Courses, and filter for the Course you wish to re-enroll in; you can also find this in the Catalog.
- If you are within the re-enrollment period (i.e. enough time has elapsed after completion or you're within the number of days before certificate expiry), you will see the option to Re-enroll on the Course.
- If the learner is eligible to Re-enroll into the course, and repurchase has been configured, then the Repurchase Price will be displayed.
Note: The Post-Enrollments feature also allows re-enrollment.
When a user is re-enrolled in a course, all of their lesson progress will be reset; it will effectively simulate a new enrollment. However, their previous enrollments will be archived and the LMS will retain the all of the reporting data from these historic enrollments. Historic enrollments are the enrollments in a course that pre-date the most recent (i.e "active") enrollment. These historic enrollments can be managed by selecting any active enrollment in either the User > Enrollments, Course > Enrollments, or Course Activity reports. From the Historic Enrollments report you will be able to edit each enrollment to achieve further reporting on that instance. Historic enrollments will also be listed in the admin-side Learner Transcript.
If a Learner is accidentally enrolled into course content, or has learning activities that aren't relevant, an Admin can remove them from their transcript. This can be completed from the User Enrollments, Course Enrollments, or Course Activity report. In order to view Historic Enrollments, a User needs to be selected from the report. If you are viewing Historic Enrollments from the Course Enrollments or Course Activity reports, you will first need to select a Course.
Once the User is selected, you can click on Historic Enrollments from the Actions menu. This will redirect you to the Enrollment History report.
Once the report has loaded, you can select as many of the enrollments in the report as required, and then choose the Delete Enrollments button from the (Mass) Actions menu. You will be prompted to confirm you wish to delete the enrollments with a modal window. Once OK is clicked, the enrollments will be removed from the Learner's transcript.
Please Note: Historic enrollment deletions are permanent and cannot be recovered. Be sure that you are deleting the correct enrollments as this change is not reversible.
If you want to allow users to be re-certified for a course that they re-enroll in, the course certificate must have an expiry date. Once this is in place, you can then allow re-certification by selecting the Time before certificate expires setting or Time after completion.
When setting the re-enrollment by time after completion, you will then need to specify how many years, months or Days. Month, or Year. When setting Month or Year, the learner will be able to re-enroll x full years to the day after initial course completion or x months to-the-day. For example, if a learner completes a course on January 22, 2018 and re-enrollment is set for 3 months, the learner will be able to re-enroll on April 22, 2018. If the re-enrollment is set for 2 years, the learner will be able to re-enroll on January 22, 2020. If you set the re-enrollment by Days, the learner will be able to enroll after the exact number of days specified.
In the above image, you will notice the optional toggle labelled Re-enroll Automatically. When switched to ON, this toggle will Re-enroll your Learners as soon as they meet the Re-enrollment requirements you have configured, rather than merely giving them the option to Re-enroll from the Learner Interface. It should be noted that this option cannot be used with eCommerce.
Automatic Re-enrollment will only process for an Active Completed Enrollment. A Completed Historic Enrollment will not trigger Automatic Re-enrollment.